Trans-Tasman T20 Series 2018 [Preview]

2017-18 Trans-Tasman T20 Tri-series will be played in New Zealand and Australia in the month of February featuring New Zealand, Australia, and England. It is going to be the first-ever tri-nation T20 series as the first game of the series will be played on 3rd February between Australia and New Zealand.

For games in New Zealand, Auckland, Wellington, and Hamilton are the three proposed venues for the tri-series while Sydney, Hobart and Melbourne will the venues for the games played in Australia. Each side will play four games each and the two teams that will finish with most points will contest the final that will be played at Eden Park, Auckland on 21st February.

England will undoubtedly be favorites for the series after beating Australia by a comprehensive 4-1 margin in the one-day series. The side will be without Joe Root who has decided to rest and get adequate rest before the tour of New Zealand. Sam Curran was included in the squad as Ben Stokes participation is not confirmed. Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Sam Billings, Dawid Malan and James Vince are terrific T20 players and have the ability to decimate any opposition on their day.

Australia will look to bounce back after a series defeat at the hands of England. David Warner is named the captain of the side for the series while selectors have picked young players who have produced exceptional performances in this year’s Big Bash League. D’Arcy Short and Alex Carey have prolific run scorers in the ongoing Big Bash League and will certainly to prove a point in the tri-series for Australia.

Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Aaron Finch are all in-form players who will be keen to do well in this series. Lynn will definitely try to create impact as his international career has been plagued due to various injuries. Kane Richardson, Ben Dwarshuis, and Billy Stanlake are three-frontline seamers for the series. Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa are two spin options picked for the series. Andrew Tye has done exceptionally well for Australia in the one-day series against England and will look to continue the good work in this tri-series.

New Zealand will be keen to prove a point after losing their no.1 ranking in the T20 format. The side lost the three-match T20 series against Pakistan as Kane Williamson and co. will keen to win this competition.

Colin Munro, Martin Guptill, and Ross Taylor are three premier batsmen in the lineup besides Williamson. The batting order has shown good form right throughout this home season and will keen to do well in this tri-series. Colin de Grandhomme, Ben Wheeler, and Mitchell Santner are all-rounders that provide the utility with bat and ball.

Seth Rance and Tom Blundell have retained their places in the side while Ish Sodhi is the second spinner picked for the contest. Tim Southee and Trent Boult will take the new-ball for the side in the format. The first game of the tri-series will see Australia take on New Zealand on 3rd February at Sydney Cricket Ground.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.