2019-20 Big Bash League [Preview]

The 2019 season of the Australia’s premier T20 competition—the Big Bash League (BBL)—is about to begin in less than a week’s time where cricket fans will get to see non-stop action for more than 50 days.

Just like the previous campaign, eight teams will be participating at the round-robin stage out of which top four will be able to qualify for the playoffs.

Melbourne Renegades will be defending their title this time around as they claimed their first-ever BBL trophy after defeating Perth Scorchers in the final by 13 runs during the 2018-19 campaign.

The first game of the tournament will be played between Brisbane Heat and Sydney Thunder at the Gabba whereas the final will be played on February 08, 2020.

In the upcoming campaign, Reigning Champions Renegades along with Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Sixers are the teams who will enter as the firm favorites.

Heat will be led by hard-hitting batsman Chris Lynn who will be accompanied by the likes of former South Africa’s captain AB de Villiers, all-rounder Ben Cutting, Afghanistan’s young leg-spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman and veteran pacer Ben Laughlin.

BBL 2019: Australia’s premier domestic T20 tournament set to establish new standards

Thunder will be led middle-order batsman Callum Ferguson who will have the services of left-hander Usman Khawaja, England’s opening batsman Alex Hales, South Africa’s all-rounder Chris Morris and right-arm pacer Jason Sangha.

Hurricanes will be led by wicketkeeper-batsman Mathew Wade who will be accompanied with the former Australia’s captain George Bailey, South Africa’s hard-hitting batsman David Miller, explosive opener D’Arcy Short and veteran all-rounder James Faulkner.

Melbourne Stars will be led by explosive all-rounder Glenn Maxwell who will be accompanied by wicketkeeper-batsman Ben Dunk, left-hander Nick Maddison, all-rounder Nathan Coulter-Nile and South Africa’s veteran fast-bowler Dale Steyn. With the acquisition of players like Dale Steyn, Stars will be looking to break their trophy drought this year.

Adelaide Strikers will be led by middle-order batsman Travis Head who will be accompanied by wicket keeper-batsman Alex Carey, veteran fast-bowler Peter Siddle, left-arm pacer Billy Stanlake and Afghanistan’s star leg-spinner Rashid Khan. 2017 BBL Champions will be looking to turn their fortunes around after a poor campaign last year. The side lost eight matches out of 14 played in the competition last season.

Defending Champions Melbourne Renegades will be led by explosive opener Aaron Finch who will be accompanied by veteran left-handed batsman Shaun Marsh, Afghanistan’s veteran all-rounder Mohammad Nabi, fast-bowler Kane Richardson and Pakistan’s left-arm pacer Usman Khan Shinwari. Aaron Finch will be hoping to play a  much bigger role for the side in this year’s competition.

Sydney Sixers will be led by veteran all-rounder Moises Henriques who will be accompanied by star right-hander Steve Smith, England’s opening batsman James Vince and all-rounder Tom Curran, left-arm spinner Steve O’Keefe and right-arm pacer Josh Hazlewood. Last year, Sixers lost to Melbourne Renegades in the second semifinal game played at Marvel Stadium. Moises Henriques will be determined to make sure Sixers make a serious dash at the trophy this year.

Scorchers will be led all-rounder Mitchell Marsh who will be accompanied by explosive batsman Ashton Turner, wicketkeeper-batsman Cameron Bancroft, all-rounder Ashton Aggar, leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed, England’s fast-bowler Chris Jordan and left-arm pacer Jason Behrendorff.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.