2019 Bangladesh Premier League [Preview]

Bangladesh Premier League 2019-20 season is about to begin from December 11 in Dhaka but the tournament this time around will have a different feel to it.

Unlike the previous editions where there was a different group owned a separate franchise, in BPL 2019, all seven teams are owned by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

Because of this specific reason, each team have their budget decreased significantly from $1.37 million to $800,000.

Due to the lack of clarity about how will the tournament will take place, host of stars will not be able to participate including the likes former South African right-handed batsman AB De Villiers, West Indies’ all-rounder Sunil Narine and Afghanistan’s leg-spinner Rashid Khan.

In terms of squad composition, there is clearly not enough quality which is likely to be on display which in all likelihood will affect the competition’s publicity.

Chattogram Challengers will have the services of foreign stars like Pakistan’s all-rounder Imad Wasim, West Indies’ explosive opener Chris Gayle (for just two matches) and his country mate Lendl Simmons along with the local stars like all-rounder Mahmudullah, openers Junaid Siddique, Imrul Kayes, pacer Rubel Hossain and all-rounder Nasir Hossain.

Comilla Warriors will consist of England’s left-handed batsman Dawid Malan and Sri Lanka’s all-rounders Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera along with local talent like middle-order batsman Sabbir Rahman, opener Soumya Sarkar and pacer Al-Amin Hossain.

Dhaka Platoon will have the services of four Pakistan players—middle-order batsman Asif Ali, veteran all-rounder Shahid Afridi, leg-spinner Shadab Khan and pacer Wahab Riaz—along with England’s batsman Laurie Evans, Sri Lanka’s wicketkeeper-batsman Thisara Perera and local talent consist of veteran opener Tamim Iqbal, Raqibul Hasan, Mahedi Hasan and all-rounder Mashrafe Mortaza.

Khulna Tigers have Pakistan’s pacer Mohammad Amir, Afghanistan’s left-handed batsman Najibullah Zadran and South Africa’s all-rounder Robbie Frylinck and left-handed batsman Rilee Rossouw on their roster alongside local players like Shamsur Rahman, Shafiul Islam, wicketkeeper-batsman Mushfiqur Rahim and all-rounder Mehidy Hasan.

Rajshahi Royals will have the services of foreign players like England’s all-rounder Ravi Bopara, Afghanistan’s Hazratullah Zazai, Pakistan’s trio of all-rounders Mohammad Nawaz, Shoaib Malik and pacer Mohammad Irfan and West Indies’ explosive all-rounder Andre Russell alongside local talents like Taijul Islam, opener Liton Das, Farhad Reza, all-rounders Alok Kapali and Abu Jayed.

Rangpur Rangers will be consist of South Africa’s left-handed batsman Cameron Delport, Afghanistan’s all-rounder Mohammad Nabi and wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad, Pakistan’s left-arm pacer Junaid Khan along with local talent like pacers Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman and left-arm spinner Arafat Sunny.

Sylhet Thunder have West Indies’ trio of Johnson Charles, Krishmar Santokie and Andre Fletcher along with Pakistan’s pacer Mohammad Sami along with local talent like Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain and Sohag Gazi.

A total of 46 matches will be played in the competition out of which Dhaka will host 28 which will also include the final which will take place on January 17. All the matches will be played across three cities-Dhaka, Chattogram and Sylhet.

The opening game of the 2019 Bangladesh Premier League will see Chattogram Challengers  lock horns with Sylhet Thunder at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.