2021 Pakistan Super League [Preview]

The sixth edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL) is slated to be played in the month of February and March in Pakistan. All the preliminary matches will be played across two venues-Karachi and Lahore. The knockout stages will be staged at Gadaffi Cricket Stadium in Lahore. All the 34 matches will be played in Pakistan from 20th February till 22nd March, 2021.

Two-time Champions Islamabad United will be looking to prepare well for the sixth edition of PSL. All-rounder Shadab Khan will lead the franchise for this year’s competition. In the PSL draft event, Islamabad United have signed English contingent of Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Lewis Gregory, Phil Salt and Reece Topley for this year’s tournament.  The signings have been made in order to increase their batting and bowling resources for this year’s competition.

Defending Karachi Kings will be keen to successfully defend their crown this year. Imad Wasim, who missed the home series against South Africa, will be back in action to lead the franchise for this year’s competition. Afghanistan spinner Noor Ahmad, England wicket-keeper Joe Clarke, Afghanistan all-rounder Mohammad Nabi, Australian all-rounder Dan Christian are notable players signed by Kings for the coming season.

Former South African opener Herschelle Gibbs have been appointed as the head coach of Karachi Kings, while Wasim Akram will serve as a bowling mentor for the franchise for the coming season.

Last year, Lahore Qalandars certainly played some excellent cricket to qualify for the finals of the competition. The side lost the finals to Karachi by a comprehensive margin. Sohail Akhtar-led unit will be looking to go the distance and win this year’s competition.

Qalandars have signed Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan to bolster the bowling resources, while  England duo of Joe Denly and Tom Abell have been picked up to give them options for the batting department.

Uncapped Leg-spinner Maaz Khan has been picked up by Qalandars in the Emerging players category in the PSL draft event.

Multan Sultans will be looking to have a serious dash at the title this year. The franchise played excellent cricket to claim top spot in the group stages. The side momentum was thwarted by Covid-19 Pandemic. With no foreign players available for Sultans, the franchise was beaten by Lahore Qalandars in the Eliminator 2 game played in Karachi on 15th November.

Wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan has replaced Shan Masood as the captain of Multan Sultans. With Rizwan taking over captaincy reins, Multan Sultans will be hoping to go all the way and lift their maiden trophy this season.

Australian opener Chris Lynn has been signed by Sultans for this year’s competition. Carlos Brathwaite and Adam Lyth are the other foreign players picked by the franchise during PSL draft event.

2017 PSL Champions will be looking to throw a serious challenge to other franchises this season. Wahab Riaz will captain the franchise this season, while Darren Sammy has been named as Head Coach of Peshawar Zalmi.

To bolster their batting department, the franchise has signed South Africa’s David Miller, while in the bowling department; the side was able to sign Afghanistan off-spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman for the coming season. England pacer Saqib Mahmood and West Indies all-rounder Sherfane Rutherford are other notable overseas signings made by Zalmi for this year’s PSL.

For Quetta Gladiators, the big agenda will be to make amends for the mistakes made in the previous edition of PSL. For the first time, Gladiators failed to qualify for the playoffs. England wicket-keeper Tom Banton, West Indies opener Chris Gayle and Former South African pacer Dale Steyn are notable players signed by Gladiators for the coming edition of PSL.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.