Australia tour to Bangladesh 2021 [Preview]

Australia is scheduled to tour Bangladesh in the month of August to play five-match T20Is, starting from 3rd August at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

With Aaron Finch ruled out of Bangladesh tour due to knee injury, wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey has been interim captain of the T20I side for the series.

Despite doing poorly in the Caribbean, the selection committee has shown faith in the players selected for the tour of Bangladesh.

It will be important for players like Moises Henriques, Daniel Christian and Josh Philippe to make an impact with the bat. The batting trio failed to deliver decent scores in the previous T20I series against West Indies.

In the batting department, the onus will be on openers Josh Philippe, Matthew Wade, middle-order duo of Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey and Moises Henriques to deliver decent scores in this T20I series.

All-rounder Mitchell Marsh showed consistency with the bat in the recently concluded tour of West Indies. He will be looking to continue his excellent form with the bat in the T20I series against Bangladesh.

In the bowling department, Mitchell Starc, Wes Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Riley Meredith, Jason Behrendroff and Andrew Tye are pacers named for Bangladesh T20Is. Mitchell Swepson, Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar will be prominent spinners for Australia for the five-match T20I series against Bangladesh.

On the other hand, Bangladesh are coming into this home series after a successful series against Zimbabwe.  Wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim, openers Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das will not be available for the T20I series due to various reasons.

In the absence of big players, the responsibility will be on the shoulders of Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan and Soumya Sarkar to lead the way with the bat. Besides the experienced trio, the likes of Mohammad Naim, Mohammad Mithun and Afif Hossain will have to make decent contributions for Bangladesh in this five-match T20I series.

Mosaddek Hossain, Nasum Ahmed and Mahedi Hasan are genuine all-rounders picked for the T20I series against Australia. With Mushfiqur ruled out of the T20I series, Nurul Hasan has been named as reserve wicket-keeper besides Mohammad Mithun.

Rubel Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam and Taskin Ahmed are pacers named in Bangladesh’s T20 squad for Australia series. Shakib Al Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Taijul Islam and Mosaddek Hossain are spinners picked for the five-match T20I series against Australia.

Shoriful Islam performed exceedingly well for Bangladesh in the previous tour of Zimbabwe. He will be looking to do well for Bangladesh in this home series. Mustafizur Rahman will be keen to get back to his best with the ball in hand. Left-arm quick has suffered from inconsistency and will be looking to make an impact for the side in this five-match T20I series.

The opening game of the T20I series will be played at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on 3rd August. The second, third, fourth and fifth T20I game will be played at the same venue on 4th, 6th, 7th and 9th August respectively.

Both the teams will be without their premier players so it will be an interesting five-match T20I series.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.