Bangladesh Premier League 2018-19 [Preview]

Bangladesh Premier League 2018-19 is all set to begin as quality player across the globe will make their way to the subcontinent. The sixth edition of Bangladesh Premier League is slated to begin from 5th January. Comilla Victorians, Chittagong Vikings, Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, Rajshahi Kings, Khulna Titans and Sylhet Sixers are the franchises that will take part in the Bangladesh Premier League.

The T20 League has certainly gained prominence since its inception in 2015. The competition has certainly helped produce quality cricketers for Bangladesh national cricket team and increase interest among the masses for the game of cricket.

A Total of 46 games will be played in the competition from 5th January to 8th February 2019. The final of Bangladesh Premier League 2018-19 will be played on 8th February in Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka.

Sylhet Sixers have bolstered their squad by signing Australian opener David Warner for the coming season. Warner will also captain the side and have an opportunity to redeem his cricketing career after being suspended by Cricket Australia due to alleged involvement in spot-fixing in the Cape Town Test against South Africa.

Sixers have been perennial underachievers in the history of Bangladesh Premier League. The inclusion of players like Sandeep Lamichhane, Andre Fletcher, Imran Tahir and Nicholas Pooran will certainly help Sixers put up a strong show with bat and ball this season.

Former Australian Captain Steve Smith will also make an appearance in this year’s tournament. He will captain Comilla Victorians for the coming season. Smith will be looking to make an impact with the bat and get runs under his belt. 2015 BPL Champions will be hoping that they can produce sort of the consistency that can help them go all the way in this year’s competition.

Defending Champions Rangpur Riders will be favorites to win this year’s competition. The likes of Chris Gayle, AB De Villiers and Rilee Rossouw will be keen to produce their best with the bat for Rangpur Riders.

Three-time Champions Dhaka Dynamites will be looking to go the distance and clinch their fourth crown this season. Captain Shakib Al Hasan will be hoping that the side can produce their best as a unit and avoid any hiccups in the major games of the competition. Dynamites have exciting talent in their squad as Hazratullah Zazai, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell and Ian Bell will be keen to do well in this year’s competition.

Rajshahi Kings have never won BPL competition and will be keen to turn things around this season after finishing sixth in the league table last year. The franchise has signed quality players like Ryan Ten Doeschate, Christiaan Jonker and Mohammad Hafeez or the coming season.

Khulna Titans played exceedingly well in the previous edition of Bangladesh Premier League. The franchise has signed players like Dawid Malan, Paul Stirling, Carlos Brathwaite and Yasir Shah to strengthen their squad for the coming season.

Chittagong Vikings endured a horrible time in the previous edition of the competition. Mushfiqur Rahim will be determined to make sure Vikings can the season on a positive note.

The signing of high-profile players like AB De Villiers, David Warner, Steve Smith and Kieron Pollard will certainly help Bangladesh Premier League gain prominence and attention among cricket fans this season.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.