Bangladesh tour to India 2019 [Preview]

Bangladesh is scheduled to tour India to play three T20s and two-match Test series in the month of November. The visitors have suffered a setback of sorts as Shakib Al Hasan has been banned by International Cricket Council (ICC) for two years after failing to comply with ICC Anti-Corruption rules and procedures.

All-rounder Mahmudullah has been named as interim T20 captain for the series against India. Uncapped Mohammad Naim has been included in the T20 squad for India series. In the absence of Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan, Bangladesh will be relying on the likes of Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das and Mahmudullah to do the bulk of the scoring.

Soumya Sarkar, Afif Hossain and Mohammad Mithun will need to make crucial contributions for Bangladesh in this three-match series.

Arafat Sunny and Al-Amin Hossain make their comeback into the T20I squad. In the bowling department, the side will be relying on the likes of Mustafizur Rahman, Shafiul Islam and Taijul Islam to make crucial breakthroughs for the side in this T20I series.

On the other hand, Virat Kohli has been rested for the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh. Rohit Sharma will be expected to lead India for the T20I series. In the batting department, the likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant to deliver the bulk of the runs.

Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya and Lokesh Rahul have managed to retain their place in the T20 squad. Yuzvendra Chahal and Rahul Chahar are the most prominent spin options for India for this series. Khaleel Ahmed, Shardul Thakur and Deepak Chahar will be prominent pace options for this series.

Bangladesh will kick-start their tour with three-match T20I series against India. The first game of the series will be played at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on 3rd November. The second and third game of the series will be played at Rajkot and Nagpur respectively.

The culmination of the T20I series will see Bangladesh take on India in the two-match Test series that starts from 14th November.

Due to Shakib Al Hasan getting banned by ICC, Mominul Haque has been named as new Test captain by Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB).

Uncapped batsman Saif Hasan has earned his maiden call-up to the Test squad. The 20-year old has played 36 first class matches and accumulated 2217 runs at an average of 46.18. Ebadat Hossain and Mustafizur Rahman make their return to the side after missing the previous series.

In the batting department, the side will be depending on Mushfiqur Rahim, Mominul Haque and Mahmudullah to produce the bulk of the runs in the Test series. Since November 2018, Mahmudullah has shown excellent form for Bangladesh in red-ball cricket and accumulated 585 runs in 13 innings at an average of 48.75. He has scored three centuries for Bangladesh during this period.

In the bowling department, the side will be depending on the likes of Taijul Islam, Mehidy Hasan Miraaz and Mustafizur Rahman to make crucial breakthroughs.

On the other hand, Shahbaz Nadeem and Shubham Gill have been included in the Test squad. The rest of the squad remains unchanged for the Test series.

The opening game of the Test series will be played at Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore from 14th to 18th November. The second  and final game of the series will be played at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. The venue will host the first-day night Test in India.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.