Bangladesh tour to Sri Lanka 2021 [Preview]

Bangladesh is scheduled to tour Sri Lanka to play two-match Test series, starting from 21st April in Pallekele. Sri Lanka have announced their Test squad for the two-match series. Dimuth Karunaratne will lead Sri Lanka for this Test series.

Left-arm spinner Lasith Embuldeniya, pacer Dushmantha Chameera will not be available for this home series due to various reasons. Uncapped spinner Praveen Jayawickrama has been named in the Test squad for the two-match series.

On the other hand, pacer Lahiru Kumara has fully covered from coronavirus and included in the Test squad for Bangladesh series.

Former Captain and all-rounder Angelo Matthews has made his comeback to the Test squad after missing previous series against West Indies due to personal reasons.

Oshada Fernando, Pathum Nissanka, Lahiru Thiramanne and Suranga Lakmal performed exceedingly well for Sri Lanka in the previous played against West Indies in the Caribbean.

In the batting department, the side will be relying on the opening pair of Dimuth Karunaratne and Lahiru Thiramanne to get the side off to a good start. Dimuth Karunaratne will be keen to get back amongst the runs. Left-hander struggled to deliver big runs in the previous series played against West Indies.

His opening partner, Lahiru Thiramanne, showed excellent composure and technique to produce consistently good scores for Sri Lanka in the two-match series played against West Indies. Experienced batsman will be keen to continue his rich vein of form in this two-match series against Bangladesh.

Angelo Matthews, Pathum Nissanka and Dinesh Chandimal will need to deliver runs for the side in this Test series. Playing his debut series in the West Indies, Pathum Nissanka showed his ability with the bat and notched up his maiden century in Test cricket.

Coming in at no.3, Oshada Fernando smashed two half-centuries in the recently concluded two-match series played against West Indies.

In the bowling department, the side will be looking towards veteran pacer Suranga Lakmal to lead the attack for Sri Lanka. In the previous series against West Indies, Lakmal bowled well and claimed 11 wickets at an average of 21.45.

Besides Lakmal, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando and Lahiru Kumara are prominent pace options for the side for this series. Ramesh Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga and Praveen Jayawickrama are three spinners named in the Test squad for the series.

On the other hand, Bangladesh have named their preliminary squad for the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka. Despite series loss against West Indies, Mominul Haque is expected to lead the side for the two-match series.

Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal and Mohammad Mithun are experienced players in the batting department.  The team management will be hoping that Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim can find form with the bat in this two-match Test series.

Shuvagata Hom, Mukidul Islam, Shahidul Islam, Khaled Ahmed and Nurul Hasan are new players included in the preliminary squad, whereas Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman are not available as they are participating in the ongoing Indian Premier League being played in India.

The opening game of the Test series will be played at Pallekele International Cricket Stadium from 21st till 25th April. The second and final game of the series will be played at same venue from 29th April till 3rd May.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.