Big Bash League 2017-18 [Preview]

Big Bash League 2017-18 is set to start from 19th December as the seventh edition will see eight teams battle it out for the ultimate prize. The final of the competition will be played on 4th February. The league has been doing rounds in the cricketing world and is one of the most watched T20 competitions around the world.

The cricketing fans in Australia love the format as it is fast-paced with loads of thrills and spills. Australia national side is currently playing Ashes series against England so fans might not be able to see Mitchell Starc or Steven Smith in action for their respective franchises. Perth Scorchers has been the most successful team in the competition as they have clinched the title on three occasions. They are the reigning champions and would be determined to successfully defend their crown.

The one concern for Cricket Australia was Big Bash League is all set to start at a time when Australia is currently hosting England for five-match series. Ashes series is a big one for both teams will compete hard to capture the Urn. Big Bash League 2017-18 still has a number of explosive players such as Chris Lynn, Aaron Finch, and Brendon McCullum. Lynn was arguably the best batsman on display in the competition last season but was not available for the last phase after being included in the Australian T20 squad.

Big Bash League 2017-18 will see each team play ten games in the tournament. Adelaide Strikers and Hobart Hurricanes will be keen to improve their performances after a poor run in the last season. Brisbane Heat will need more players besides Chris Lynn to stand up with bat and ball. Melbourne Renegades will be the team to watch-out as the side is a balanced one in terms of bat and ball. Melbourne Stars suffered a close defeat in the playoffs last season as veteran captain David Hussey decided to call it quits.

Adelaide Strikers have also roped in South African opening batsman Colin Ingram who performed well in ECB’s Nat West T20 Blast. Perth Scorchers have an experienced squad for this season as the likes of Adam Voges, Michael Klinger, Jhye Richardson and Andrew Tye produced vital contributions to see the side lift the title last season.

The newest editions in the league in terms of overseas players will be Yasir Shah and Shadab Khan who have been signed by Brisbane Heat. Jos Buttler has signed with Sydney Thunder while Mohammad Nabi and Kieron Pollard will play for Melbourne Renegades. Former New Zealand fast bowler Mitchell McClenaghan also will take part after signing with Sydney Thunder for the coming edition.

The Big Bash League 2017-18 will see a total of 43 games being played this season. The tournament opener will see Sydney Derby as Sydney Sixers will take on Sydney Thunders on 19th December at Sydney Showground Stadium.
Chris Lynn is the most expensive player in the Big Bash League 2017-18 after signing 5 million dollar deal with Brisbane Heat.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.