India tour of South Africa 2021 [Preview]

India is scheduled to tour South Africa in the month of December and January to play three-math Test series followed by three-ODIs, starting from 26th December (Boxing Day Test) at Centurion. The hosts have announced their 22-man squad for home series against India.

Veteran opener Dean Elgar will lead the side for the three-match Test series. Temba Bavuma will act as deputy to Elgar for this series. Glenton Stuurman, Sisanda Magala, Sarel Erwee, Ryan Rickelton, Marco Jensen and Prenelan Subrayen have earned their maiden call-ups to the Test side.

For South Africa, the onus will be on the experienced players like Dean Elgar, Aiden Markram, Temba Bavuma, Rassie van der Dussen and Quinton de Kock to deliver big scores in this three-match Test series.

Since December 2019, opener Dean Elgar has been leading run-scorer for South Africa in Test cricket. Left-hander has accumulated 703 runs at an average of 41.35 with one century and five half-centuries to his name.

Besides Elgar, Quinton de Kock and Aiden Markram has shown decent form for Proteas in the five-day format. Kyle Verreynne and Keagan Peterson are expected to retain their places in the XI for this Test series.

Duanne Olivier makes his comeback to the national side after almost two years.  The right-arm quick will be keen to make an impression with the ball for South Africa in this three-match Test series.

In the bowling department, the side will be relying on premier pacers like Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje and Lungi Ngidi to deliver crucial breakthroughs.

Keshav Maharaj and George Linde are two spinners named in the Test squad. Sisanda Magala, Glenton Stuurman, Beuran Hendricks and Marco Jensen are other pace options for South Africa for this three-match Test series.

On the other hand, India will be looking to win their maiden Test series in South Africa. After doing exceedingly well in Australia and England, Men in Blue will be looking to deliver a strong show with bat and ball against South Africa.

Rohit Sharma is set to miss the three-match Test Series against South Africa. Priyank Panchal has earned his maiden call-up to the national side. Jayant Yadav, Rishabh Pant, and Shardul Thakur will make their first trip to South Africa.

For India, the onus will be on the likes of experienced trio of Virat Kohli, Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane to deliver big scores in this Test series.

Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari and Priyank Panchal are other batting options for India in the three-match Test series. Besides Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha has been named as reserve wicket-keeper for the tour of South Africa.

Since December 2019, Cheteshwar Pujara has suffered from inconsistency with the bat in the five-day format. In 17 Tests, Pujara has accumulated 849 runs at an average of 27.38 with seven fifties to his name.

In the bowling department, the side will be relying on the likes of Mohammad Siraj, Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Shardul Thakur to deliver timely breakthroughs.

The opening game of the Test series will be played at SuperSport Park in Centurion, starting from 26th December. The second game of the Test series will be played at The Wanderers in Johannesburg from 3rd to 7th January. The third and final game of the Test series will be played at Newlands Cricket Ground in Cape Town from 11th to 15th Jan.

The culmination of the Test series will see both teams lock horns in a three-match ODI series. The first two matches of the limited-over series will be played at Boland Park in Paarl on 19th and 21st Jan. The third and final game will be played at Newlands in Cape Town on 23rd January to conclude the tour.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.