Indian Premier League 2020 [Preview]

2020 Indian Premier is scheduled to be played in the United Arab Emirates from 19th September till 10th November. The tournament is taking outside India due to Covid-19 Pandemic. BCCI said that hosting the league outside India was a viable option. Eight teams will participate in this year’s condition.

The cash-rich league main sponsors, VIVO, pulled out of the deal due to growing tensions on the border between India and China. All the matches will be played across three-venues, Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

Defending Champions Mumbai Indians will be looking to successfully defend their crown this season. The franchise has signed the likes of Chris Lynn, Sherfane Rutherford, Dhawal Kulkarni, Trent Boult and Nathan-Coulter-Nile to strengthen their squad for the coming season.

Skipper Rohit Sharma will be looking to make an impact with the bat in the coming season. Given a long break from international cricket, Sharma will be keen to produce his best with the bat for Mumbai Indians.

Jaspreet Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya and Kieron Pollard are all experienced players, who have delivered match-winning performances for the franchise in the past.

Chennai Super Kings have managed to retain most of their players for the coming season of Indian Premier League. England all-rounder Sam Curran has been signed by the franchise for a whopping fee of 5.5 crore for the coming season.

Leg-spinner Piyush Chawla has been roped in by Chennai Super Kings for a fee of 6.75 crore. Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood has been signed by Chennai Super Kings for the coming edition of Indian Premier League.

Inaugural IPL Champions Rajasthan Royals will be looking to go the distance this season and win their second title. Steve Smith will lead the side for this year’s competition.

In order to bolster the batting resources, Robin Uthappa, David Miller have been signed by the franchise. On the bowling front, Leg-spinner Mayank Markande and pacer Tom Curran have been roped in by Rajasthan Royals for the coming season. West Indies pacer Oshane Thomas is another star attraction for Royals this season.

Delhi Capitals will be desperate to end their trophy drought this year. Skipper Shreyas Iyer has been a bankable performer for the side in the past couple of years and will be looking to lead from the front with the bat.

England’s Jason Roy, West Indies’ Shimron Hetymer and India’s Ajinkya Rahane have been signed by Delhi Capitals for the coming season of Indian Premier League. Australian wicket-keeper Alex Carey has been signed for a fee of 2.4 crore by Capitals.

Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin was signed for whopping fee of 7.60 crore by Rajasthan Royals, whereas England pacer Chris Woakes was bought for fee of 1.50 crore.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have been perennial underachievers in the history of Indian Premier League. Australian opener Aaron Finch has been signed by Royal Challengers for this year’s competition.

Australian wicket-keeper Josh Phillipe, Sri Lanka all-rounder Isuru Udana, South Africa’s Dale Steyn and Chris Morris are notable acquisitions made by Royal Challengers Bangalore this season.

Kings XI Punjab is another franchise who will be looking to prove a point in this year’s competition. Lokesh Rahul has been named as new captain of the side. Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell have been signed for a whopping fee of 10.75 crore for the coming season. New Zealand all-rounder James Neesham, all-rounder Krishnappa Gowtham and West Indies pacer Sheldon Cottrell have been roped in by Kings XI Punjab for this year’s tournament.

2016 IPL Champions, Sunrisers Hyderabad, will be looking to start their campaign on a positive note. Australian all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, West Indies all-rounder Fabian Allen are the notable signings made by Sunrisers for the coming edition of the league.

Two-time IPL Champions, Kolkata Knight Riders, will be looking to compete hard this season. Wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik has been retained as captain of the side. England ODI Captain Eoin Morgan has been bought for 5.25 crore for the coming season.

England wicket-keeper batsman Tom Banton and Australian pacer Pat Cummins have been signed by the franchise for the thirteen edition of the league.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.