New Zealand tour of Bangladesh 2021 [Preview]

New Zealand is scheduled to tour Bangladesh in the month of September to play five-match T20Is, starting from 1st September at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka.

With premier players like Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, Tim Southee and Trent Boult rested wicket-keeper batsman Tom Latham has been interim captain of the T20I side for the series.

With senior players expected to take part in the Indian Premier League in the coming month, the opportunity will be for promising players to make an impact with bat and ball.

It will be important for players like Scott Kuggeleijn, Jacob Duffy and Tom Blundell to make an impact with the bat.

In the batting department, the onus will be on openers Tom Latham, Finn Allen, middle-order duo of Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell and Colin de Grandhomme to deliver decent scores in this T20I series.

All-rounder Colin de Grandhomme consistency with the bat in the recent T20I Blast competition.. He will be looking to continue his excellent form with the bat in this five-match T20I series..

In the bowling department, Hamish Bennett, Jacob Duffy, Scott Kuggeleijn, Ben Sears, Blair Ticker and Matt Henry are pacers named for Bangladesh T20Is. Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra and Cole McConchie will be prominent spinners for New Zealand for the five-match T20I series against Bangladesh.

On the other hand, Bangladesh are coming into this home series after a successful series against Australia. Captain Mahmudullah Riyad will be hoping that the side can continue their decent form in the shortest format of the game.

Wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim and Liton Das will be available for the T20I series after missing home series against Australia due to personal reasons.

In the absence of big players, the responsibility will be on the shoulders of Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Shakib Al Hasan and Liton Das to lead the way with the bat. The experienced trio of Sarkar, Naim, Shakib and Liton will have to make decent contributions for Bangladesh in this five-match T20I series.

Mosaddek Hossain, Aminul Islam, Nasum Ahmed, Mahedi Hasan and Shamim Hossain are genuine all-rounders picked for the T20I series against New Zealand.

Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Mohammad Saifuddin are pacers named in Bangladesh’s T20 squad for New Zealand series.

Shakib Al Hasan, Mahedi Hasan, Aminul Islam, Shamim Hossain, Nasum Ahmed, Taijul Islam and Mosaddek Hossain are spinners picked for the five-match T20I series against New Zealand.

Left-arm spinner Nasum Ahmed performed exceedingly well for Bangladesh in the previous tour of Australia. He will be looking to do well for Bangladesh in this five-match T20I series. Left-arm quick Mustafizur Rahman will be keen to continue his excellent form for Bangladesh in this home series.

The opening game of the five-match T20I series will be played at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on 1st September The second, third, fourth and fifth T20I game will be played at the same venue on 3rd, 5th, 8th and 10th September respectively.

With inexperienced New Zealand squad named for Bangladesh, it will be interesting how fringe players fare on pitches that offer turn and bounce for the spinners.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.