New Zealand tour to Sri Lanka 2019 [Preview]

New Zealand is set to tour Sri Lanka in the month of August and September to play two Tests and three-match T20Is starting from 14th August.

For Sri Lanka, Captain Dimuth Karunaratne will be hoping that side can start their home season on a positive note. The side has done well in the five-day format so far this season and also managed to win their maiden Test series in South Africa against South Africa.

On the other hand, Captain Kane Williamson managed to beat Pakistan in a three-match Test series played in the United Arab Emirates. The side will be looking to improve their record in the sub-continent and will be keen to win a Test series against Sri Lanka.

For home side, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Matthews and Akila Dhananjaya make their return for the two-match Test series against New Zealand. All-rounder Angelo Matthews has shown excellent form for the side in white-ball cricket and will need to put in notable scores for Sri Lanka in this Test series.

In the batting department, the side will be relying on the experienced trio of Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera and Angelo Matthews to produce the bulk of the runs. Captain Dimuth Karunaratne has been a bankable performer for the side at the top of the innings and will be looking to do well in this home series against New Zealand.

Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis and Dinesh Chandimal are other prominent options in the batting department for Sri Lanka.

Niroshan Dickwella is the first-choice wicket-keeper for the two-match Test series and will be looking to do well in this two-match Test series.

In the bowling department, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal and Vishwa Fernando are three prominent pace options for this series. Dhananjaya de Silva, Lasith Embuldeniya, Akila Dhananjaya and Lakshan Sadakan are four spinners included in the squad for the two-match series.

For the visitors, the side led by Kane Williamson has now won five Test series in a row and will be looking to maintain their unbeaten streak in the format.

Captain Kane Williamson has accumulated runs for the side on a regular basis in the five-day format and will need to deliver runs with the bat.

In the batting department, the opening pair of Jeet Raval and Tom Latham will need to get the side off to a decent start. Latham scored heavily for New Zealand in the Test series played against Bangladesh at home.

Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls and wicket-keeper BJ Watling will need to produce runs for the side in this two-match Test series.

The selectors have picked four spinners for the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka. William Somerville, Ajaz Patel, Todd Astle and Mitchell Santner have been included in the Test squad for the two-match series.

Trent Boult and Tim Southee has been an experienced new-ball pair for Kiwis in red-ball cricket. The side will be hoping that the duo can make early inroads with the new-ball in this Test series.

Third seamer Neil Wagner has done an excellent job for the side in the five-day format.

The visitors will kick start their tour with a two-match Test series that starts from Wednesday. The first game of the series will be played at Galle International Stadium from 14th to 18th August. The second and final game of the series will be played at P Sara Oval in Colombo from 22nd to 26th August.

The culmination of the three-match T20I series will start from 1st September. All three games will be played at Pallekele International Stadium. The games will be played on 1st, 3rd and 6th September respectively.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.