Pakistan tour to Zimbabwe 2021 [Preview]

After completing a highly successful tour of South Africa, Pakistan will travel to Zimbabwe to play three T20Is and two-match Test series, starting from 21st April in Harare.

Babar Azam-led unit managed to their maiden T20I series in South Africa. He also became the second Pakistani captain to win a bilateral ODI series against South Africa in South Africa. The T20I squad contain core group of players that featured in the four-match T20I series against South Africa.

After consecutive hundreds in the ODI series, the team management has retained opener Fakhar Zaman for the tour of Zimbabwe. Danish Aziz, Arshad Iqbal and Mohammad Wasim Jr. are three uncapped players picked for the T20I series in Zimbabwe.

In the batting department, the side will be relying on the top-order trio of Mohammad Rizwan, Sharjeel Khan and Babar Azam to deliver the bulk of the runs.

Since Jan 2020, Babar Azam is leading the batting charts for Pakistan in the T20 format. In 15 matches played, Babar has scored 535 runs at an average of 44.58 with one century and five half-century to his name.

Besides Babar, Fakhar Zaman found form with the bat and smashed a splendid 60 runs to help Pakistan clinch four-match T20I series in South Africa. Left-hander will be keen to continue his decent form in this upcoming three-match T20I series.

Mohammad Hafeez had a quiet series with the bat against South Africa. The experienced middle-order will be keen to get back to his best. Haider Ali, Asif Ali and Faheem Ashraf are capable power-hitters for the side for the forthcoming T20I series.

In the bowling department, the side will be relying on the likes of Mohammad Hasnain, Hasan Ali and Shaheen Shah Afridi to make crucial breakthroughs. Faheem Ashraf has done exceedingly well for the side as back-up bowler in the T20 format.

Haris Rauf, Arshad Iqbal and Muhammad Wasim Jr. are other pace bowling options for Pakistan for the three-match T20I series.

Leg-spinner Usman Qadir, left-arm orthodox Mohammad Nawaz and Muhammad Hafeez are three pace options for the side for this T20I series.

On the other hand, Zimbabwe have announced their 15-member squad for the home series against Pakistan. Sean Williams will be the captain for the side for the three-match series.

Tadiwanashe Marumani, spinner Tapiwa Mufudza and pacer Tanaka Chivanga are uncapped players included in the Zimbabwe T20I’s squad for the series.

The return of Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine will bolster the batting resources for Zimbabwe for the three-match series against Pakistan. Due to injury, Sikandar Raza was not considered for this T20I series.

In the batting department, the onus will be on the experienced players like Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams and Craig Ervine to put in decent scores.

The likes of Ryan Burl, Wesley Madhevere are capable players, who can deliver runs for the side in the shortest format of the game.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the likes of Blessing Muzarabani, Donald Tripano and Richard Ngarava will need to make crucial breakthroughs.

Pakistan will kick-start their tour with three-match T20I series against Zimbabwe. The visitors will play all three matches at Harare Cricket Club on 21st, 23rd and 25th April respectively. Then the green shirts will take on Zimbabwe in a two-match series that will be played in Harare.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.