PSL 2022 Team Preview: Islamabad United


Islamabad United has been the most successful side of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). Winning the inaugural edition of PSL and then owning the title in third, United is the only team to grab the coveted PSL title twice.

During the inaugural season, Misbah-ul-Haq guided United to the winning podium and in season-3 it was Asif Ali’s heroics that crowned United with the coveted title of PSL.

Islamabad will search up for their 3rd title in the seventh edition of the PSL. Last year, United was unstoppable during the group stage as they topped the table and became the first-ever team to win 8 matches in the group stage.

Shadab Khan-led men were remarkable but were subjugated by the Multan Sultans and Peshawar Zalmi in the qualifier and eliminator, respectively.

During season 5, United produced below-par performances as their journey ended during group stage for the very first time in the PSL. Psl-6 saw a remarkable comeback of United and surely PSL,-7 might see them as a third-time champion.

The red squad has continued their formula of aggressive openers, a stable and reliable middle order, followed by power hitters, and a good all-around bowling attack.

Islamabad signed Pakistan’s Azhar Mehmood as their bowling coach who was previously with the Multan Sultans.  Azhar too has worked for United in PSL so, it is a comeback of Azhar.

Pakistan Super League – season seven

Talking about the squad for Shadab-led men in PSL – 7, the top-order of United is packed with sublime hitters and classic batters such as Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Paul Stirling, and Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

The middle-order is backed by Shadab Khan, Danish Aziz, and Mohammad Akhlaq. Moreover, Islamabad has also got the services of power hitters like Asif Ali and Azam Khan.

The bowling attack of the red squad will be led by Hasan Ali. Faheem Ashraf and Mohammad Wasim Jnr will accompany him. Emerging players like Mohammad Huraira and Zeeshan Zameer add value to the amazing squad of United.


Aggressive batters

Without a doubt, Islamabad has always been amazing and outclass when it comes to batting line-ups. Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Gurbaz, Azam Khan, Asif Ali. All these names are enough to turn up the fortune of United from any moment of the game.


Alongside batting, United has got a decent bowling attack. Hasan can deliver both with the new and old ball, Faheem is a suitable chunk for the middle order, Wasim Jnr is surely an impressive candidate of firsts and last overs. Last but not the least, Shadab’s spin can scuffle the opponents.


Islamabad will be relying highly on its openers and hitters. Having Huraira in the middle order might give some stability to the batting line-up, but still, United openers will be the key.

Islamabad United Squad 2022

Asif Ali, Colin Munro, Hasan Ali,  Faheem Ashraf, Marchant De Lange, Shadab Khan (C), Alex Hales, Azam Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Danish Aziz, Mohammad Akhlaq, Paul Stirling, Reece Topley, Zafar Gohar, Mubasir Khan, Zeeshan Zameer, Rehmanullah Gurbaz, Ather Mehmood, Musa Khan, Zahir Khan, and Mohammad Huraira

The two times champions will start their PSL 7 campaign against last year’s finalist Peshawar Zalmi.

Islamabad United PSL Schedule 2022

Jan 30: Peshawar Zalmi vs Islamabad United

Feb 1: Islamabad United vs Multan Sultans

Feb 3: Islamabad United vs Quetta Gladiators

Feb 5: Islamabad United vs Lahore Qalandars

Feb 6: Karachi Kings vs Islamabad United

Feb 12: Islamabad United vs Quetta Gladiators

Feb 14: Islamabad United vs Karachi Kings

Feb 17: Islamabad United vs Peshawar Zalmi


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.