PSL 2022 Team Preview: Lahore Qalandars


Lahore is the unfortunate team of the Pakistan Super League (PSL). They could only play a solitary playoff of the league out of six editions. They qualified for the final during season five and were handed defeat by Karachi Kings.

Across the first four seasons of PSL, Qalandars have picked up the wooden spoon. They have been the team with the lowest win percentage. Inconsistency is the biggest trouble for Qalandars. Somehow, they are, to date, struggling to find the best possible playing XI despite racking up a great squad under their belt.

The likes of Mccullum have led Qalandars but were deprived of the title. Even having a decent squad last year, Lahore couldn’t turn their dreams into reality. In PSL-6 during the Karachi leg, Qalanders were remarkable. They won 4 matches out of 5, and it was seemingly evident that they would make it into the playoffs. The Sohail-led men aced the Karachi leg in a fairy-tale way, thrashing every opponent in style. The only team they lost to were the eventual champions of PSL6 – Multan Sultans.

However, covid out-brust turned out the fortunes of Lahore. The UAE leg of PSL-6 saw typical Lahore Qalanders, and the Sohail Akhtar led man was deprived of the title yet again. Unlike Karachi’s leg, Qalandars could only notch up a single victory.


Having the likes of Mohammad Hafeez, Fakhar Zaman, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, and Haris Rauf couldn’t help Lahore win the marquee event. Nevertheless, it was tactical errors that sank the dream chance of Lahore to win the PSL title.


But, this time, Shaheen Shah Afridi will replace Sohail Akhtar in the role this year. It might turn the tide for Lahore? Let’s see.

PSL- season seven

On a serious note, Calendars have got a winning squad this time.

Hafeez, Fakhar, Abdullah Shafeeque are great names to go ahead.

Also, Harry Brook, Kamran Ghulam, and Phil Salt can lift the batting lineup for Qalanders. Foxcroft is another player that adds versatility to their lineup.

David Wiese is undoubtedly the vast name who knows how to squash any opponent.

The bowling attack of Lahore is second to none. Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf, Rashid Khan. This deadly trio can rattle any batting lineup.


Bowling attack: as discussed earlier, Lahore’s bowling attack makes them a formidable force. Shaheen is impeccable with the new ball, Rauf can tackle the death overs well, Rashid’s spin is enough to create trouble for the opponent.


Lahore might face trouble when it comes to batting as they rely highly on their local core, i.e., Fakhar, Abdullah, and Hafeez. However, the support of Salt, Dunk, and Foxcroft can surely turn the fragile batting lineup of Lahore into a gigantic one.

Concluding, Lahore Qalandars have got a tournament-winning squad this time. All eyes are on how the newly-appointed Shaheen will lead this side. He, of course, has the support of veteran Hafeez.

Lahore Qalandars Squad 2022

Shaheen Shah Afridi (C), Rashid Khan, David Wiese, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hafeez, Sohail Akhtar, Zeeshan Ashraf, Ahmed Daniyal, Fakhar Zaman, Phil Salt, Harry Brook, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Dean Foxcroft, Zaman Khan, Maaz Khan, Samit Patel, Syed Faridoun, Mohammad Imran Randhawa, Akif Javed, and Ben Dunk


Lahore Qalandars PSL 2022 schedule

Jan 29: Lahore Qalandars vs Multan Sultans

Jan 30: Karachi Kings vs Lahore Qalandars

Feb 2: Peshawar Zalmi vs Lahore Qalandars

Feb 5: Islamabad United vs Lahore Qalandars

Feb 7: Lahore Qalandars vs Quetta Gladiators

Feb 11: Lahore Qalandars vs Multan Sultans

Feb 13: Lahore Qalandars vs Quetta Gladiators

Feb 18: Lahore Qalandars vs Karachi Kings

Feb 19: Lahore Qalandars vs Islamabad United

                                                                Feb 21: Lahore Qalandars vs Peshawar Zalmi



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.