South Africa tour to England 2022 [Preview]

South Africa is scheduled to tour England to play three ODIs, three T20Is and three Tests, starting from 19th July at Riverside Cricket in Chester-Le-Street.

With Temba Bavuma ruled out of the England tour, Keshav Maharaj has been named interim captain for the three-match ODI series. David Miller will lead the side for the three-match T20I series against England

On the other hand, Jos Buttler will lead England in the ODI and T20I series against South Africa. Reeza Hendricks, Khaya Zondo, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams have been included in the ODI squad for the three-match series.

On the other hand, Matty Potts have earned his maiden call-up to the ODI squad for the series against South Africa. After missing the previous series due to personal reasons, Leg-spinner Rashid Khan makes a comeback to the limited-overs squad.

For England, the onus will be on the top-order trio of Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root to deliver the bulk of the runs.

Captain Jos Buttler, Liam Livingstone and Phil Salt are capable players that can accelerate and score quick runs in the last phase of the innings in a one-day game.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the likes of Reece Topley, Adil Rashid, Sam Curran and Matty Potts to deliver crucial breakthroughs.

On the other hand, South Africa have announced their 17-member squad for the upcoming ODI series against England.

In the batting department, the onus will be on the likes of Janneman Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, Quinton de Kock, Aiden Markram and David Miller to deliver the bulk of the runs.

In the bowling department, the side will be relying on the likes of Tabraiz Shamsi, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada and Anrich Nortje to deliver timely breakthroughs.

For the T20I series, Harry Brook, Dawid Malan, Chris Jordan, Phil Salt and Sam Curran have made their comeback into England’s setup. Uncapped pacer Richard Gleeson have earned their maiden call-up to the T20I squad for the three-match series against South Africa.

Ben Stokes has been rested for the T20I series in order to manage his workload due to hectic cricketing schedule this season.

On the other hand, Former Kolpak player, Rilee Rossouw, makes a comeback to the South Africa’s T20I squad for the tour of England. Left hander will be looking to take the field for South Africa after almost six years. He has shown tremendous form with the bat for Somerset in the recently concluded T20 Blast competition.

Uncapped wicket-keeper Tristan Stubbs have been named in the T20I squad for the three-match series against England. Wayne Parnell, Heinrich Klaasen and Lungi Ngidi make their comeback while rookie pacer Gerald Coetzee has been included in the setup for the T20I series against England.

The opening game of the ODI series will be played at Riverside Stadium in Chester-Le-Street on 19th July. The second game of the series will be played at Emirates Old Trafford in Manchester on 22nd July. The third and final game of the one-day series will be played at Headingley Cricket Stadium in Leeds on 24th July.

After conclusion of the ODI series, South Africa will lock horns with England in a T20I series, starting from 27th July at Bristol. The second and third games will be played at Cardiff and Southampton on 28th and 31st July respectively.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.