West Indies tour to Bangladesh 2021 [Preview]

West Indies is scheduled to tour Bangladesh in the month of January and February to play three-match ODIs and two Tests, starting from 20th January. High-profile names like Jason Holder, Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetymer and Kieron Pollard have decided to opt out of the Bangladesh series due to Covid-19 concerns.

West Indies Cricket Board has named Kraigg Brathwaite as interim captain of the side for two-match Test series. On the other hand, middle-order batsman Jason Mohammad will lead West Indies for the three-match one-day series.

The visitors will be kick-start their tour with three-match one-day series. The first two matches of the one-day series will be played at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka on 20th and 22nd January respectively. The third and final game will be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on 25th January.

The culmination of the one-day series will see Bangladesh and West Indies play two-match Test series. The opening game of the Test series will be played at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram from 3rd till 7th February, while the second and final game of the series will be played at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka from 11th till 15th February.

For the ODI series, uncapped players like Kjorn Ottley, Andre McCarthy, Kyle Mayers, Akeal Hossain, Chemar Holder, Joshua De Silva and Keon Harding included in West Indies squad. Sunil Ambris, Rovman Powell, Jason Mohammad, Alzarri Joseph and Hayden Walsh Jr. are experienced players for this three-match ODI series.

The series will mark the return of Bangladesh premier all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who was banned after pleading guilty to charges leveled against him. Bangladesh will be hoping that Shakib Al Hasan can deliver his best with bat and ball.

Mominul Haque will lead Bangladesh for the two-match Test series. Shakib Al Hasan and Mustafizur Rahman make their return to the preliminary Test squad. Wicket-keeper Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mehidy Hasan Miraaz and Taijul Islam are high-profile names included in the squad for the two-match Test series.

For West Indies, uncapped players like Kavem Hodge, Sheyne Moseley and Kyle Mayers have earned their maiden call-ups to the Test squad for Bangladesh series.

Wicket-keeper Joshua De Silva, Nkrumah Bonner, Raymon Reifer and Veerasammy Permaul are players named in the Test squad for the upcoming series against Bangladesh.

For Bangladesh, the onus will be on the experienced batting trio of Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim and Tamim Iqbal to deliver the bulk of the runs.

In the bowling department, the side will be depending on the pace duo of Mustafizur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain and Abu Jayed to make crucial breakthroughs.

On the other hand, West Indies will be relying heavily on their captain Kraigg Brathwaite to lead the from the front with the bat. Brathwaite’s opening partner, John Campbell and Jermaine Blackwood are other two experienced players in the batting department,

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the pace trio of Shannon Gabriel, Kemar Roach and Alzarri Joseph to make crucial breakthroughs with the new-ball. With approximately 350 wickets, Roach and Gabriel will have to come up with better plans in order to pick wickets on sluggish pitches in Bangladesh.

Rahkeem Cornwall, Veerasammy Permaul and Jomel Warrican are three spinners picked for the two-match Test series.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.