West Indies tour to New Zealand 2020 [Preview]

West Indies is scheduled to tour New Zealand in the month of November and December to play three-match T20I series and two Tests. The visitors have already arrived in the country and currently going through a 14-day quarantine period before they resume their practice session for the T20I series against New Zealand.

The opening game of the T20I series will be played at Eden Park in Auckland on 27th November. The remaining two matches will be played at Mount Maunganui on 29th and 30th November.

Kyle Mayers, Andre Fletcher and Romario Shepherd have been included in West Indies T20I squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand. Romario Shepherd was last-minute replacement for Dwayne Bravo, who sustained an injury while playing for Chennai Super Kings in the Indian Premier League.

In the batting department, the onus will be on the experienced trio of Kieron Pollard, Andre Fletcher and Shimron Hetymer to deliver the bulk of the runs.

Captain Kieron Pollard has shown excellent form and consistency with the bat for West Indies in the T20 format. Since November 2018, Pollard has accumulated 335 runs in 14 matches at an average of 41.87 with a strike rate of 145.02. He has smashed two half-centuries during this period.

Shimron Hetymer will be keen to find form with the bat in this three-match T20I series. Left-hander showed decent form in the recently concluded Caribbean Premier League. The team management will be hoping that Hetymer can deliver the goods with the bat against New Zealand.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the likes of Sheldon Cottrell, Hayden Walsh and Oshane Thomas to make crucial breakthroughs in this contest.

On the other hand, pacer Tim Southee will lead the side for the three-match T20I series. Kane Williamson has been rested after playing whole season of Indian Premier League for Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Wellington batsman Devon Conway has earned a maiden call-up to the national side for the three-match T20I series. The left-hander deserves his inclusion as he has been a consistent performer at the domestic level.

Wicket-keeper Glenn Phillips has made a comeback to the T20I squad for this home series. In his year’s Caribbean Premier League, Phillips played well and finished the competition with 316 runs at a strike rate of 127.10.

With Colin Munro missing from the squad due to his Big Bash League commitments, the onus will be on the likes of Ross Taylor, Martin Guptill and Glenn Phillips to deliver the bulk of the runs.

Since November 2018, Ross Taylor has topped the batting charts for New Zealand in the T20 Format. The 36-year old scored 442 runs in 16 matches at an average of 31.57 with two half-centuries to his name.

Besides Taylor, Martin Guptill will also be keen to get back amongst the runs against West Indies. The 34-year old has suffered from inconsistency and will be keen to prove a point in this home series.

In the bowling department, the onus will be on the likes of Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson and Scott Kuggeleijn to make wickets in the initial Powerplay overs.

Uncapped pacer Kyle Jamieson has been named in the New Zealand T20I squad for West Indies series. Earlier this year, Kylie Jamieson made his ODI and Test debut for New Zealand against Virat Kohli’s India. The 25-year old will be keen to make an impact for the side in this series.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.